A beginner gets lost in EVE online

Space Jaunting: Part 2 – Last Day – Resigned to failure

Hello, you join us today on a sad day in Maxi Foyle’s EVE life.  It’s a sad day because it is his last day with his current corporation and perhaps his last day in EVE.  You see, Maxi Foyle, Space Resigner, feels he’s reached the Event Horizon of EVE Online.  The new gameplay mechanics, the exploration and adventure, the excitement of working with (and against) other humans all had Maxi tumbling into the EVE online lifestyle in a big way, but recently things have become a bit stale.  The time required to learn each new skill, to get each new ship, to do each new money making industrial enterprise gets longer and longer, and more and more expensive.  Over the last week or so Maxi’s started feeling he has seen all he’s likely to see from EVE for the near future, and with each goal he acheives each new goal seems further and further to grind before reaching it.

What does this all mean?  I’m afraid it means, for the time being, there will be no more Space Jaunting blog.  The time and effort required to play this amazing, deep, all encompassing game is more than I can afford at the moment.  So rather than force my way through and write less and less exciting posts I’m going to draw a line under it here and keep this blog as it was intended: as a slightly silly journey of a total beginner in the world of EVE online.

It’s been incredibly fun, certainly some of my all-time favourite gaming moments have occured in this game.  The stupid thing about me saying it’s getting less fun is that I’m forgetting some of the greatest escapades have happened when I least expected them to.  So often I’ve signed on just for 10 minutes to say hello to the corp and update my skill queue, and then 3 hours and a PvP skirmish, or a stupidly difficult mission later I’m only just logging off.  If I get the time back I will continue with EVE and I will make sure you all hear about Maxi Foyle’s new adventures, but for now this is goodbye.

o7 fly safe

P.S. I’ve enjoyed writing about EVE so much I’m going to keep posting about other games in the form of reviews and articles over on http://asreviewedelsewhereontheinternet.wordpress.com/, including a proper review of EVE Online very soon, so please check it out if you enjoyed this.

6 responses

  1. Sad to hear this, although I understand. I enjoyed reading your EVE blog.

    May 30, 2011 at 10:15 pm

    • Thanks for the kind words, hermit. I think I enjoy the writing and reading of EVE blogs like your own more than the actual game itself! Best of luck with yours

      May 31, 2011 at 6:17 pm

  2. Serpentine Logic

    Likewise. Perhaps we’ll see you around later.

    May 31, 2011 at 12:38 am

    • Same to you Serp. It’s been a pleasure, and many thanks for Crimples.

      Actually, I meant to apologise to you about that….about Crimples….I would give her back but…. I lost her in some PvP 😦

      At least she popped doing what she was built for!

      May 31, 2011 at 6:19 pm

  3. Jenni Concarnadine

    Can I haz yr stuf ?

    I will look after it and not, in any way, sell it to pirates and griefers. Nor will I let my poniez eat it.

    I am sorry you found your goals receding. Personally I have always gone for modest goals (stay alive, make 1m ISK in a day, collect datacores and sell them for 40m, stay alive), but I know that some people want more than this, and I say: all the best to them.

    Fly well — clear skies

    May 31, 2011 at 7:34 am

    • Staying alive is always a good goal to go for Jenni! Doesn’t make brilliant reading though, methinks.

      I’m still going to play EVE a bit, I’ve got a month or 2 of sub left to go, so no freebies yet, but you’ll be the first to know if I’m leaving for good!

      May 31, 2011 at 6:21 pm

Leave a Reply

