A beginner gets lost in EVE online

Space Jaunting: Part 1 – Day 7 – Operation Mined Control

One day I will run out of terrible mining puns, but until that day you’ll have to put up with titles like that.  I hope you don’t mined?

Quite a lot has happened in the last couple of days so I think an update is in order:

The first point is a little update on Maxi’s Charity Fund Raiser day.  The day was of course just a silly name for a day of hard, ISK making graft on Maxi’s part, and very successful it was too, but one very generous reader decided to interpret it literally and gifted a fitted and kitted Vexor to our very own Maxi Foyle, Space Charity Case.  This is the very cruiser Maxi was dreaming of owning a couple of posts ago, so many thanks to Serpentine Logic for this generous act, and although I know he didn’t do it to get anything in return the very least I can do is plug his very informative blog which you should read here.  Maxi can’t even fly the thing yet due to a lack of skills, but we’ll rectify that this week and let you know how she flys!

The second piece of news is Maxi did his first shift in his new Mining job last night, going on a mining op with about 10 other Corp members.  It was a lot of fun!  The operation works with the majority of us mining the asteroids for whatever ore we’re being asked for, putting the ore in ‘cans’ which are floating cargo containers in space that are then scooped up periodically by another member in a massive hauler and shipped to base.  It was slow work on my part as I was in the Snooty Nave a tiny mining frigate I was given in the tutorial missions, filling about 1 can in the 3 hours I was out there.  Not sure how much that’s going to earn me but as of this afternoon I will be the proud owner of a Retriever which will speed up future mining no end.  It was a long shift, and not terribly exciting, but it was a good chance to have some long chats with my fellow corpies.  The corp are planning a few ops a week and are asking us to get involved as often as we can, so hopefully this’ll start building up some serious income for Maxi.  I’ll let you know when I get paid!

And finally the only other piece of news was Maxi has bought himself a new frigate.  After the loss of the Inquisitive Badger II Maxi thought maybe it was time to try ‘normal’ combat again, rather than rely on drones, and so bought and kitted out one of these awesome looking things:

It’s an Incursus named the Jousting Mongoose and it looks amazing in my opinion, and that’s the main reason I bought it!  It’s a more traditional frigate in that it relies on 3 guns to deal damage, rather than drones or missiles.  With a bit of online research I think I’ve finally fitted a ship well too, playing to the ships strengths with 3x 125mm railguns to deliver damage, an afterburner to zoom in close enough to enemies to deal that damage, and armour buffs to tank the ships armour.  It took a while for me to get over a fear of having no shield boost, but after taking her out for a bit of ratting I can see the improvement you get from putting all of a ship’s resource slots into one thing, like armour boosting, rather than spreading it across shields and armour.

That’s about it for now.  This afternoon I will be watching the timer tick down on my final Mining Barge skill level needed to pilot a Retriever (4 hours to go!), and then heading to the Mining Barge dealership to pick up the keys to my new Retriever, the Feisty Pigeon.  In fact that reminds me, I need to go get some strip mining lasers and cargohold expanders.

See you next time.

o7 fly safe

Leave a Reply

